A happy carefree retirement is the dream of many people after decades of hard work. A retirement survey conducted in mid-2020 by Insights Unlimited, an online research community, revealed that most interviewees envisioned their retirement to be happy, healthy and free. However, local society sees a mismatch between the ageing population and the provision of elderly care services. So, is a joyful and carefree retirement really an unattainable dream?
 
A silver market with huge potential
 
According to Population ageing trend of Hong Kong published by the Office of the Government Economist in February 2019, the size and share of the elderly population will almost double from 1.27 million in 2018 and 17.9% to 2.44 million and 31.9% in 2038. In other words, nearly one in every three persons will be elders in 2038. In face of the rapidly ageing population, the provision of elderly housing has become a major issue. Elderly living facilities are in extreme shortage in Hong Kong. Plus, the elderly will be expecting more quality services due to their higher education level and better financial situation. That is why many of the current elderly services are still inadequate to meet the growing demand.
 
With the corporate mission of creating shared value, Stan Group endeavours to leverage its commercial power to meet social needs and bring mutual benefits to both corporate and community. Starting from 2018, we have proactively expanded the silver market, turning the dire need for quality senior services into new innovative business opportunities. By venturing into a new market of huge potential, the Group aspires to generate profit while simultaneously responding to social needs, bringing positive impact to stakeholders and society.
 
An innovative model with synergy
 
The Elderly Services Programme Plan was brought forward by the Elderly Commission in 2017 as blueprint for improvement and further development of various elderly services. In the plan, ageing-in-place is one of the overarching principles. Riding on the wave presented by this policy, Tang’s Living Group, a member of Stan Group, launched Patina Wellness together with Pine Care Group in 2018. The project has created a sound synergy between Stan Group’s property resources and expertise in hospitality, and Pine Care’s 30+ years of professional experience in elderly services. Patina Wellness is in fact Hong Kong’s first integrated senior elderly wellness hub residence run by the private sector.
 
Patina Wellness targets the market of middle-class retirees, integrating serviced apartments, a residential care home, a clubhouse, a health centre and a restaurant. The high-quality elderly housing services and living facilities are provided as a holistic and innovative package. The elderly may enjoy living with their family while taking advantage of the clubhouse facilities and the healthy menu offered by the restaurant. They may live in a hotel-quality home while having their health needs taken care of by a team of registered medical professionals. Patina Wellness is an all-rounded solution for seniors to age in place and lead an active social life.
 
Patina Wellness has received amazing feedback and won widespread popularity since its opening, which testifies Stan Group’s successful business model to create shared value. In view of this, we decided to speed up our expansion of the elderly market and secure the market share. In early 2020, honourable chairman Tang Shing-bor and chairman Stan Tang of Stan Group acquired Pine Care Group Limited (Hong Kong stock code: 1989) and made the two Groups strategic partners in eldercare services. By synergising their strengths and continuous innovation, they strive to provide professional and top-notch elderly home to the silver community and thereby raising the quality standard for the entire industry.
 
A national expansion of health & wellness services
 
Looking ahead, Stan Group seeks to review the current framework and redefine senior care services by upscaling its businesses to a new dimension and expanding its market from Hong Kong to the Greater Bay Area.
 
As the economy grows rapidly, people desire for a better-quality lifestyle. The pursuit of good health is universal as physical wellbeing is vital to happiness. As an extension of elderly care, the health & wellness industry now also covers health care, medical care, sports, tourism, etc. Health & wellness is expected to be an up-and-coming industry in the Mainland China and Hong Kong.
 
As the One-Child Policy was implemented in the mainland for many years, demographic dividend is on a downward trend while elderly dependency ratio is rising sharply. Against this backdrop, we see the increasing potential of the elderly market. According to a research on senior care consumption and senior care industry development published by the National Social Science Fund of China, the senior care industry reached 490 billion RMB in 2015 and was expected to surge to 48.52 trillion RMB by 2050, with a nearly tenfold increase.
 
In response to the trend, Stan Group has signed the Memorandum of Understanding with Dasin Real Estate on the Dasin⠐ Sunshine City project in Zhongshan, China. The strategic cooperation will harness the resources of both parties on the operation of the senior care property and the ancillary facilities of medicine, food, housing, transportation in the Greater Bay Area, establishing the Dasin⠐ Sunshine City project as a high-quality and outstanding retirement community. The partnership not only marks a significant milestone of Stan Group as we expand our health & wellness business to the Greater Bay Area, but will also enhance the service standard of the senior care industry in the Greater Bay Area. Providing Hong Kong's senior citizens with high-quality senior care services in the Greater Bay Area will be a means to resolve the pressure brought by the ageing population and the shortage of land, thus creating a win-win situation where an outstanding community is constructed for the elderly.
 
With a devotion to creating shared value, Stan Group will make the best efforts to build the senior care and health & wellness industry of tomorrow. Through integrating eldercare with its core businesses, the Group hopes to create a synergy to bring positive impact to society so that all will have access to quality senior care services and enjoy a joyful and carefree life in their golden years.

營營役役大半生,安樂榮休,享受人生,是不少人的夢想。根據調研平台「點止點子」於2020年中進行的一項「退休生活」調查結果顯示,大部受訪者都憧憬退休生活是快樂、健康及自由自主。然而,隨著香港人口日漸老化,社會上的安老服務卻未能相應配合,安享晚年是否遙不可及?
 
安老市場  潛力龐大
 
根據政府經濟顧問辦公室在2019年2月發表的《香港的人口高齡化趨勢》報告,2018年至2038年之間,65歲或以上的長者人口將由127萬增加至接近一倍達244萬,比例由17.9%增加至31.9%。到了2038年,大約每三人就有一位長者。面對人口迅速高齡化,長者住宿供應自然成為一大課題。香港普遍長者生活配套一直嚴重不足,加上未來的長者會因為教育水平和經濟條件提高,對服務質素將有更高期望,不少機構提供的安老服務都未能滿足持續增長的需求。
 
陞域集團以「創造共享價值」為使命,致力以商業力量緩解社會需要,成就商社共贏。我們於2018年起積極發展安老業務,將社會對優質樂齡服務的殷切渴求,轉化成為創新商機,開拓潛力龐大的新市場和嶄新的商業營運模式,獲取利潤同時回應社會所需,為持份者及社會創造正面價值。
 
把握優勢  創新模式
 
2017年,安老事務委員會提出「安老服務計劃方案」,作為未來安老服務發展的藍圖,其中「居家安老」是一大策略方針。陞域集團抓緊政策機遇,由旗下 Tang’s Living Group與松齡護老集團合作,將房地產資源,結合在酒店、餐飲、會所等方面的營運專長,以及松齡在安老服務逾30年專業經驗,於2018年推出全港首個首個私營綜合養生社區項目 - 蔚盈軒。
 
蔚盈軒瞄準中產退休人士市場,結合服務式住宅、護老院舍、會所、健康中心及餐廳,提供高質素安老住宅服務及生活配套,以優質全面的創新模式實踐「居家安老」的理念。長者可與家人一同入住,盡享天倫樂,又可與享用會所設施及餐廳提供的健康有營美食,自在享受酒店級的舒適生活的同時,更由專業註冊醫療團隊體貼照顧其健康需要,真正擁有樂齡生活。
 
蔚盈軒自開幕以來廣獲各界好評,市場反應熱烈,亦印證陞域集團能成功推展以「創造共享價值」為目標的商業模式。有見及此,我們決定加快發展安老業務的步伐,鞏固集團在該行業的版圖。2020年初,陞域集團榮譽主席鄧成波和主席鄧耀昇共同以個人名義,注資收購松齡護老集團(香港股份代號:1989),令兩個集團成為策略夥伴,進一步結合兩者之優勢,不斷創新,為銀髮族提供專業且高質素的安老院舍服務,提升整體行業水平。
 
推展康養  進軍全國
 
展望將來,陞域集團力求突破安老的既定框架和意義,將業務提升至「康養」概念,全力開拓業務新方向,並同時把目光由香港延伸到大灣區。
 
隨著經濟快速發展,人們希望過上高品質生活的願望越來越强烈、要求越來越高,健康已成爲大眾對生活的一種普遍追求。「身體健康、心情愉快,生有所養、老有所樂」成爲對幸福生活的基本訴求。由養老產業延展出來的康養産業,涵蓋養老、養生、醫療、運動、旅游等,勢將成為在中國內地及香港蓬勃發展的新興産業。
 
中國內地以往實施「一孩政策」多年,加上人口紅利在高峰期後逐步下滑,勞動人口負擔老年人開支的比例將會急劇上升,安老市場潛力也會相應提升。按中國國家社科基金公布的《養老消費與養老產業發展研究》,2015年養老產業規模達4,900億人民幣,到2050年更預計急增至48.52萬億人民幣,升幅接近十倍。
 
因應這個趨勢,陞域集團與大信置業就中山「大信.活力城」項目簽署了合作備忘錄,期望發揮雙方資源優勢,聯手就大灣區養老地產運營及「醫、食、住、行」商業配套展開戰略性合作,將「大信.活力城」打造成為優質卓越的高端養老社區。此次雙方合作,不但是集團將康養業務拓展至大灣區的里程碑,更可將大灣區整體養老產業的服務水平提升至更高層次,同時為香港未來銀髮族提供更優質的安老選擇,以舒緩香港人口老化及土地不足的問題,共創雙贏的全新局面。
 
陞域集團將繼續秉持「創造共享價值」的使命,努力建構明日的安老及康養業務,並力求與集團其他核心業務互相配合,產生協同效應,同時致力為社會帶來正面影響,使大眾都能夠康養人生,活得豐盛,安享晚年。